© (P) 2012 Simstan Music Ltd/UMe. "Amazon" is a registered trademark of Amazon.com, Inc. "iTunes" is a registered trademark of Apple Inc.

MONSTER (2012)


Universal Music Group B0017219-02 (USA, 10/9/12 - Standard CD)
Universal Music Group B0017600-02 (10/9/12 - CD/Magazine Pack)
Universal Music Group B0017418-01 (USA, 10/9/12 - Standard LP)
Universal Music Group B0017481-02 (10/9/12 - 3D Lenticular Cover)
Universal Music Group (USA, 10/XX/12 - Picture Disc)
Universal Music Group UICY-75380 (Japan, 10/10/12 - SHM-CD w/ 3D cover)
Universal Music Group UICY-15180 (Japan, 10/10/12 - SHM-CD)
Universal Music Group 3740966 (Europe, 6/12/13 - Tour Edition)
Universal Music Group UICY-75996 (Japan, 10/16/13 - 2CD Tour Edition)


Disc 01:
A1. Hell or Hallelujah (4:06) - Stanley | LYRICS
(USA #36 - Mainstream Rock Chart)
A2. Wall of Sound (2:56) - Stanley, Simmons, Thayer | LYRICS
A3. Freak (3:35) - Stanley, Thayer | LYRICS
A4. Back to the Stone Age (3:01) - Stanley, Simmons, Thayer, Singer | LYRICS
A5. Shout Mercy (4:05) - Stanley, Thayer | LYRICS
A6. Long Way Down (3:51) - Stanley, Thayer | LYRICS
(USA, did not chart)
B1. Eat Your Heart Out (4:06) - Simmons | LYRICS
B2. The Devil Is Me (3:41) - Stanley, Simmons, Thayer | LYRICS
B3. Outta This World (4:29) - Thayer | LYRICS
B4. All for the Love of Rock & Roll (3:22) - Stanley | LYRICS
B5. Take Me Down Below (3:25) - Stanley, Simmons, Thayer | LYRICS
B6. Last Chance (3:06) - Stanley, Simmons, Thayer | LYRICS
13. Right Here Right Now* (3:58) - Stanley, Thayer | LYRICS
14. King Of The Night Time World** (3:59) - Fowley/Anthony/Stanley/Ezrin

Disc 02 (Japan Tour Edition Only):
01. Psycho Circus
02. Shout It Out Loud
03. Let Me Go, Rock 'N Roll
04. I Love It Loud
05. Heaven's On Fire
06. Calling Dr. Love
07. Say Yeah
08. God Of Thunder
09. Lick It Up
10. Love Gun
11. Black Diamond
12. Detroit Rock City
13. I Was Made For Lovin' You
14. Rock And Roll All Nite
15. Right Here Right Now


Produced by Paul Stanley. Co-produced, engineered, and mixed by Greg Collins. Recorded at Conway Recording Studios, Los Angeles, CA; and the Nook Studios in Studio City, CA, April 16, 2011-January 6, 2012. Engineering assistance by "Quiet" Matt Wiggers, Eric Weaver, Seth Waldmann, and Martin Cooke. Piano on "Freak" by Brian Whelan. Mixing completed by March 2012.

Similar to "Sonic Boom," the band were going old-shool recording in analogue to 24-track tape through an old Trident board. Though this time they are using Endless Analog's CLASP (Closed Loop Analog Signal Processor) system, "which integrates analog tape machines into the digital audio production workflow, is allowing the band to use analog tape while tracking to Pro Tools in real time, opening up the sonic space of tape while providing the editing capabilities of the digital recording workspace" (KissOnline). The system marries the benefits of the warmth and sonic depth/characteristics of analogue with the conveniences that ProTools allows. 14 songs were recorded (of the 20-25 brought to the sessions).

*iTunes exclusive bonus track later included on the "Tour Edition" reissues (Canada, Europe & Japan). ** Japanese bonus track which is the same as the version included on the 2004 "Instant Live" CD rather than the slightly modified version released on the Japan-only 3" CD accompanying the "Rock The Nation" live DVD in 2006. Subtitled for this release "Rock The Nation Lost Tracks" recorded live at Virginia Beach, VA on July 25, 2004. The Japanese "Tour Edition" includes a bonus CD with studio versions of the songs comprising parts of KISS' 2012/13 set list, plus the previously unreleased studio bonus track and "Say Yeah" from the "Sonic Boom" album that wasn't domestically released in Japan.

Performance credits:

No substitutions/extras currently known.

Chart Action:

US Chart Peak: #3 (10/27/12) with 7 weeks on charts.


USA: SoundScan: 132,000 (12/31/2012). As of October 2015, "Monster" has continued its slow commercial crawl to a SoundScan® level of 156,576.


Japanese Obi

CD Print: US | Germany

ZinePak: Front | Rear
Picture Disc:

The "Tour Edition:"

Sealed Front | Rear
Gatefold | CD | Poster
Booklet Page 1 & 4 | Page 2 & 3

KissConcertHistory.com/KissOnTour.net/The KissFAQ™ is an unofficial & unsanctioned fan website.
Many images/reviews/quotes used under U.S. code TITLE 17, CHAPTER 1, § 107, "Limitations on exclusive rights: Fair use." This site HAS a registered DMCA agent.

Original content © 1995-2024 - All Rights Reserved. Contact. Click it up!